Jason Collins’ Words, Adapted (re: Brittney Griner)

Yesterday on Facebook, my friend Lauren responded to my posting of my Atlantic piece on Collins and Griner by saying, ” I was very tempted to make a macro with his image and his quotation (“I am black. I am gay”) and a photo of her wearing a bow tie saying, “Cool story, bro.” But I didn’t think that would be productive. *pats self on back for being less snarky this week*”

Well, Lauren, I’m nothing if not willing to do something snarky and unproductive.

Image I created today, adapting the famous first three sentences of Collins’ Sports Illustrated piece: “I’m a 34-year-old NBA center. I’m black. And I’m gay.”

Griner behind a microphone. She's sitting a table with her hands open, palms out, on each side of her head. She is tilting her head to the right. Over top of her are the words, "I'm a 22 year old WNBA center. I'm black. And I'm gay."

(I forgot the hyphens, I realize now and like being snarky and unproductive, I’m also lazy)

 

